THE GERMANS WON--NO, THE FRENCH WON--NO, IT WAS THE GERMANS--NO, THE FRENCH
If you did not get in on the controversy, the lead German rider, B. Hoy, crossed the start line of the jumping twice,
and thus accumulated 14 jumping penalties instead of a clear round...as ultimately ruled by the Olympic committee.
The French, the second place team noticed this violation and filed a complaint. Initially, the
Germans prevailed, on appeal the French prevailed. There is no further appeal, according to NBC news (see their story
at above link).(NBC additionally provided a taping that showed that she had indeed crossed the line twice.)
So, the Germans are moved to fourth and everybody else moves up...Final is French winning, GB silver,
As one of the commentators for NBC said, it is a "mistake that any Pony Clubber in the world
knows not to make". This is the ultimate of "rider error".
Hoy lost her individual medal too.
I do not think I would want to be B. Hoy at this time. Or any time in the near future.
Or maybe lifetime.